done or made by stealth; secret or clandestine: a surreptitious glance.

Racing the Wind

The Illustration Friday prompt this week was “Racing.”  How would it feel to race against the wind?  Hair all tangled and knotted, flying through the sky, leaves spinning, wind in your face.  I would feel so alive.

Racing the Wind

This is done with acrylic and pastel.  I bought a book on sale at the library this week by an illustrator I admire, Bernadette Watts and wanted to try some pastel work this week.

6 responses

  1. I have only just found this website. it was nice to read you found one of my books and enjoyed the pictures. the pastels i use are the oil-bound ones which you can use neat – as in cartoons or sketches, or combine with white spirit to pain t a finer image.
    Bernadette watts

    December 29, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    • Bernadette Watts? Really! Thank you for your comments. You just made my week! Thanks for sharing your methods with me. I really love your work.

      Tia Mushka

      December 31, 2010 at 11:02 am

      • How are you getting on with the oil crayons? Some of my favourite were made by CONTE, but sadly no longer available. Sennelier are lovely colours but the actual sticks are a bit “gluey”.
        I am not working at present as I am in the throws of moving house. Hopefully by end of March. All my working life I have had to work in my bedroom, but for the first time I will have a small studio.
        Good luck, Bernadette

        March 13, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  2. Hi Bernadette, I have actually been experimenting with some chalk pastels lately. I found these beautiful handmade and hand formed pastels by Diane Townsend and you know when you find something just so enticing you just can’t stop yourself from buying them? They were very expensive, so I just bought a few, but they are so delicious and the texture is just amazing! Its been fun learning how to use them. Good luck on your move…I know how stressful that can be! So interesting to learn you created all those beautiful books in your bedroom! You must be over the moon to have a your own studio space. I am lucky to have a little sunroom at the back of the house to work in. My daughter has taken up residence there lately and set up her own little “studio” there too. So cute!
    Thanks for the encouragement and good luck with the move!
    Tia

    March 14, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    • Moved here 7 months ago and got very depressed as there was no phone line – so no chats with friends, no computer, no Fax. There is absolutely no radio reception, so I sometimes play CDs while painting. Shepway District Council will not allow an aerial on the roof – its a converted farm barn – so I had to fork out on a dish, but the programmes are awful so I just dont switch it on. My son and daughter in law live 5 mins away, further up a hill, they have a TV aerial and all the normal programmes. However the phone was fixed 2 days ago and I have managed to join up my computer.
      Its a complex made out of very old farm buildings, 6 homes in all, but I am the only buyer, so no neighbours. Its a bit like solitary confinement in prison.
      Have you seen THE SMALLEST SNOWFLAKE and THE STARCHILD?
      Bernadette

      November 24, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      • Hi Bernadette! Hope you had a nice Christmas! My children and I read your two Christmas books “The Christmas Bird” and “Trouble at Christmas” during the holidays. I haven’t read your new ones yet, but The Star Child looks especially magical. I just found your Rumplestilskin as well! Funny you mention your new place, my cousin lives in Wales in a converted textile mill. She and her second husband have 12 children between the two of them, so the textile mill about fills their needs! I’ve been to visit, and it is so beautiful. I just received my first book commission and am very excited! Its a story that takes place in the 1920’s in Canada, so I have been having fun with looking through the old Sears catalogues and such! Hope you have your new home sorted out by now!
        Tia

        January 23, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

